Pumpkin + Muffin = Pump-ffin

I love Fall!  I love the cooler temperatures (kind of).  I love college football.  I love the sense of a new beginning that each new season brings.  I must confess, though.  I love Fall the most because I love to bake with pumpkin.

There is a bakery down the street from my home that my mom discovered.  It has the most amazing gingerbread muffins.  I would consider them to be more of a ginger-pumpkin muffin, but the owner calls them gingerbread muffins.  I set out to search for a good ginger-pumpkin muffin recipe and stumbled upon one that I thought would be it.  It’s not quite “gingery” enough, but it is definitely a delicious pumpkin muffin.  I played with the spices until I found the flavor I wanted.  Below is how they appear in the original recipe.  I will let you decide for yourself.


For the Bread/Muffins

  • 1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg  (Note: I do not like nutmeg, so I omit this)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon pumpkin spice
For the Glaze
  • 1 cup plus 3 tablespoons powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line a muffin pan with paper liners.  Depending on how big you make them you can get 12-24 muffins from this recipe.
2.  In a large bowl, mix together pumpkin puree, eggs, oil, butter, water, sugars and vanilla until well blended.
3.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger, and pumpkin spice.  Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended.
4. Pour or spoon into prepared paper liners.  Bake in preheated oven for 25-30 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
5.  While the muffins are cooling, combine all the ingredients for the glaze. Drizzle over the muffins and allow glaze to dry before serving.
Source:  adapted from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen.

Leave a Reply

